Louisiana Home Inspector Regulations
Louisiana Home Inspector Requirements
MENU

 

 

 

Louisiana Home Inspector Regulations

Louisiana Licensure (Chapter 17-A of Title37) enacted in 1999.

Louisiana law creates the "Louisiana Home Inspectors Licensing Act." It creates the Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors within the Department of Economic Development and requires the Board to establish minimum qualifications for licensing and allows the Board to charge and collect fees.

1) Applicants must be at least 18 years old and must have successfully completed high school or its equivalent, and passed the National Home Inspector Examination.
2) Applicants must show evidence of successful completion of at least 120 hours of instruction, at least 30 hours but no morethan 40 of which must be in course work containing actual practical home inspections.
3) Home inspectors are required to provide a written report of the home inspection, and are prohibited from, at the time of inspection and for a reasonable time there after, advertising or soliciting to perform repairservices on the home upon which the inspection was performed.
4) As a condition of renewal of a license, a home inspector must show evidence of completion of 20 hours of continuing education.
5) Active licensees are required to carry errors and omission insurance, and the Board must establish a group insurance program.


More information:

General Rules
Standards of Practice
Louisiana State Board of Home Inspectors
(225) 248-1334 Phone
(225) 248-1335 Fax

Louisiana References:

Louisiana Home Inspectors
Louisiana Home Inspectors Training



Member Login


List Your Company

Password Reminder


Home Inspectors

Levers, Handlesets, Knobs, Faucets, Sinks, Cabinet Knobs, Lighting and Appliances

STATISTICS
  • Active Members: 190
  • Pending Members: 17
  • Total Articles: 14
  • Total Leads: 38135